Family Engagement

When you have kids from a previous marriage, dating is not often the easiest thing to maneuver. You come as a package deal… kids are still attached to the idea of you getting back with their father… different personalities… wariness of adults around your kids, etc. So when I met Captain, I made sure I took my time, looked left and right, and left and right again, checked for any dangers or blind spots, and then truly crossed the road. Four years later, I’m glad I did because this man is truly a blessing.

I could sit and list all his wonderful qualities but I think his approach in asking me for my hand in marriage shows the kind of man he is. 💖


Upon arrival in Iceland, we took off for the town of VĂ­k, where Captain had scheduled a horseback riding tour for us on Reynisfjara Beach. Knowing that this was one of my favorite spots from our last visit, he made this special place the background of his proposal. He expressed his love for me and shared beautiful observations and thoughts of my family and our life together. It was very humbling to hear his words and so satisfying to be able to echo the same love back.

But that’s not where he ended. He asked me to keep the engagement quiet until our return because he wanted to talk with my kids and involve them in what would be a second proposal.

So when we returned to Miami, I left to run some errands while he had a heart to heart with my kids. Captain shared how he adored them and wanted them to be part of his declaration of commitment and love to me. They came up with a crafty little scavenger hunt that I would find on my return.

Little cards with clues and messages were spread around the house leading me finally to my bedroom, in which a final card and my ring were displayed on my bed. My babies were dressed up, grinning from ear to ear, and waiting with champagne to toast to this moment. They showered me with kisses and affection, while Captain again repeated how he loved and wanted a life with us forever.


There isn’t a single thing in this world that means more to me than my family. He gets it- and embraces it. Can you kinda see why I think he’s so marvelous? 💗

I’ve come such a ways since my divorce….

Love, Captain Athena

28 thoughts on “Family Engagement

      • My home is finished (aside from painting, which I’m convinced is never done). I’m sailing on weekends now, working towards becoming a captain myself, thanks to encouragement from my own Captain. I’m a long way from my happily ever after, but closer every day.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Ok. So. I’m so happy I read this in my house and not while out at a cafe or something. I’m not a crier, generally. But damn. There’s a ton of happy for you. Tons and tons. There’s also a bit of sad for me, because I haven’t had any of that, in a very long time, and it’s very hard to see being that lucky. I’m so so so happy you found captain. That he involved your kids isn’t just special- it’s something my dad (he’s a counsellor and works a lot with blended families) suggests- because they were there first. It’s important they know they have a big part of the pie. Beautifully done. I’m so happy for you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. KC says:

    OMG!! FELICITACIONES!!! I’m never on here anymore and I just happened to pop in to my blog email just to see what was happening around here and I saw your posts. Much blessings, more love and more happiness to you, Captain and the kids. xx

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment