A year ago…

A year ago Grayheart moved out. We’d started our separation discussions and plans in September 2014 but he moved out the Sunday before Thanksgiving 2014. 

We spent Thanksgiving together as a family and it went smoothly.  

For many months, he visited my home nightly (he didn’t have a place he could take them to) and stayed over the nights I would go out (ex. Friday night fun, etc.).  It was torture having to see him so frequently and go through the pain of knowing he was enjoying his life with his mistress, Raggedy Ann.  But I powered through and knew that the kids were doing well due to the united front.

Fast forward to 2015.  Grayheart rents a townhouse and we have separated our lives. He’s a great father and takes the kids twice a week for dinner and now has them overnight every Thursday and every other weekend. The kids are doing really well, all things considered. I’ve taken them to a child psychologist and she’s very happy with their progress.

As for my relationship with him… We have our ups and downs. We get along in a superficial manner and I try to avoid getting into any deep conversations with him. I’m still angry and hurt. Not like I was before but it still lingers. I feel at times like I have things that were left unsaid.  I won’t bother going there but at times it gnaws at me.  

I’ve been reflecting as Thanksgiving comes upon us and things have changed a lot in a year. But I got through it and am grateful.

So this year, my mom will host Thanksgiving again. My kids will be with me. And my lovely boyfriend, Captain, will be attending. *smile*

And Grayheart asked if he could come by. *frown*

And I said yes. *grimace*

What was I supposed to say?

He has no family here and I would hate to separate him from the kids. 

Sigh. You know the saying “The road to hell is paved with good intentions”? Yeah, that’s me. Always me. Lol!

Wish me luck! 

  
Hope all of you have an easy and happy Thanksgiving this year! Lots to be thankful for! 

XO

47 thoughts on “A year ago…

  1. Wow since you and I have been following each other you have made so much progress which is a huge thing to do in this situation!! You sound happy, settled and moving forward! I am so very proud of you. I hope you have a happy and lovely thanksgiving! You are truly an amazing lady!hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was very gracious of you, you have come far. Remember to hold you’re head high, you are the one doing him a favor in an effort to be the awesome mom you are. Happy thanksgiving to you and your lovely family. ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • No joke! Lol!

      I know you guys do Thanksgiving in October… I had the lovely fortune of spending it in Ottawa last year with my Canadian friends and really enjoyed it. Lots of maple yumminess! Hope the countdown to holidays is going well para ti y la familia! Xo

      Like

  3. People come into our lives and go out of our lives and we do not design a self identity based on what others do or don’t do. You should be so very happy and you are so lucky to have the sharing relationship with him re the children. My ex put me through the sex molestation for my 2 then 3 year old daughter. It was horrible and I won’t go into the details. My son and daughter are in their early 30’s now. They understand how mentally ill is their mother(without my acrimony) and how they can always depend on me. I would focus now on the new opportunities for your new life as it can hold so much promise if you dare step out into it !

    Liked by 1 person

    • So true. I recall you mentioning this awful experience in your life and I’m sorry you had to have your life scrutinized and shaken in such terrible way. You have good perspective and see the bright side of things so I appreciate your advice. I will be focusing on the good!!! 🙂 thank you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

