I’m at the “happiest” place on earth

Let’s see if that holds true.

Because I’m a masochist, I agreed to keep our plans to go to Disney as a family this weekend. Yes, we all drove up together in one car. And, yes, we are staying in the same hotel suite. (He is on the pull out couch while the kids and I sleep in the room.) It is the Disney marathon weekend and we are each scheduled to race.

I had already cancelled my trip to Paris to run the Paris to Versailles 16K so I was hell bent on not missing out on the half marathon I’d been furiously training for. But I hadn’t really thought through how Grayheart and I were going to co-exist under these circumstances.

I gave him a warning two days ago. I would not be made to feel uncomfortable. Don’t be talking or texting her around us. Be present or not with us at all. He easily agreed. I threatened that if he couldn’t handle it, we’d cancel the trip as a family or I’d drive my own car and have separate lodging. He was against it. So after talking to my therapist, DD, I decided to proceed with our mini vacation.

So today we made the trip up to Orlando. No casualties (yet). We did argue a few times over nonsense but it was overall okay. He hasn’t been obvious in his communication with Raggedy and I’ve tried to not be “Grumpy Cat” with him.

I have been noticing though that I’m feeling liberated that I don’t have to put up with a lot of his crap. (He is incredibly moody.) Being with him in close proximity reminds me that Raggedy has no idea what she’s gotten herself into!

We hit the parks tomorrow… Stay tuned!

(And, no, he has not tried any funny business.)

Β‘Ay dios mio!

For those of you interested in joining me, check out the Disney races available! πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “I’m at the “happiest” place on earth

  1. You have to be really strong to be able to do this πŸ™‚ But it’s really admirable how you hold your own feelings back to give a great experience to your children. That’s really amazing! Good luck on the rest of the trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, not only are you so much braver than I could be, but kinder as well. I would be scheming to try up to come up with something to make Miss Raggedy suspicious of the trip! Ha! it doesn’t need to be true, obviously. I would want that Raggedy chick to be crying in her pillow and filled with fear, waiting for a text from him.
    πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

