Grayheart & Kids in Disney 

For the last several years, my family and I have done the Disney World marathon weekend since we are annual pass holders. I even went last year even though Grayheart and I were estranged.  (I did my first half marathon last year.)

Typically, one of us would do a race while we have the kids do a kids race.

  
This year, the Disney marathon weekend fell on Grayheart’s weekend with the kids. He invited me to join them. I thought about it. And declined. (I’m not that crazy again.)

And then I panicked thinking he would be alone in Disney world with our 3 yr old son and 6 yr old daughter. 

So I told him that I actually preferred that there be another adult with them. Raggedy Ann.

Yup, I actually asked that the woman who was a part of my breakup with my husband to attend Disney World with my kids.

Why? Because another set of eyes would ensure my kids would be properly watched, cared for, help with bathroom breaks and be the even number for any rides. 

And so she joined them this past weekend for it. And I was okay.

  
I didn’t overthink it. Because if I allowed myself to, I’d probably get worked up and upset for no reason.

Instead, I’m grateful my kids had fun and  back in one piece, safe and sound.

 

Disney Kids Race

 
I’m doing good, friends. I’m really coming to peace with my new life. I’m not fully there yet but I’m getting there. 🙂

XO

PS –  It was glorious, though, hearing Grayheart remark that he has no idea how I did it by myself last month because it was exhausting even with two adults watching over them.

Heh! 

28 thoughts on “Grayheart & Kids in Disney 

  1. I think this step comes with a big poster “welcome to Meh” on it… You don’t love the idea of her being around. Ex is still the villain, but you’re too busy loving your life to let this stop You or change you. She doesn’t matter. He doesn’t matter. They are capable of keeping the children alive and happy to the tune of 6-8 on a 1-10 scale…. So you can relax and be you.

    I love this post. I can’t wait for meh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Perfect description! It’s like deal and move on or be miserable. I choose to be better. I refuse to let them think they won. And as long as he’s a good dad and she’s food with the kids… I can’t really ask for more. 🙂

      Working on my poster now… Lol!

      Wishing you meh soon… Actually, for better than meh! Lol xo

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yeh. Meh just applied to your lack of fucks to give about them. The rest of your life is meant to be your pile of awesome. You should never be excited about them, you should reach meh about them… Any time you’re putting effort into thinking about them is time taking away from your pile of awesome and they don’t impact or matter in that pile. Two piles. Meh pile and your pile. Congratulations on MEH! I won’t be there for a long time, but I also don’t have children so I can also reach a point where complete no contact can happen. I wish you love and peace and happy. Because your blog gives me hope

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that your request that another adult be present was proof positive that you’ve truly have been released from that relationship. You’re better for it, the kids are better for it. Happiness is bliss!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

