Keys Life 

I’ve been negligent of my blogging duties… It’s been a fun summer. I’ve had my kids all summer long during the day and Grayheart and I continued or arrangement of splitting weekends. During my “time off” from the kids, I mainly spend it in the Keys with Captain. 

Captain usually rents a house each year with some friends for a month in Key West.  I hadn’t been down there in over a decade and forgot just how much fun it is!

 

90 miles to Cuba!


I am very much into outdoor adventures and grew up around the water. So to be out there snorkeling, boating, fishing, bike riding everywhere and just smelling the salt water… Sigh… It was truly relaxing and restorative.

 

Catch & release of a jack!

 

Snorkeling!

  

Snorkeled around mangroves

  

See the little lemon shark?! Saw lots of em!

 
 

By the docks

  

These lil dudes are everywhere!

  

See the tarpon?

 
  I had a fantastic time just relaxing and came back to my kids in such a good mood. It’s amazing what proper rest can do for your soul!

 

Little Palm Island ferry

  

View at brunch

  

Protected key deer

 
By the way, there’s been a lot going on and I’ve had many ups and downs during the divorce process these last few months. It’s certainly not been all roses and daisies. I’m just sometimes too worked up to even write. I will get back on it but, for now, I’m trying to focus on the positive and things that aren’t so heavy. 

xoxo

25 thoughts on “Keys Life 

  1. mickey2travel says:

    Welcome back! We’ve missed you! Glad to hear that you are having some YOU time, and enjoying the summer! You’re photos look like great “therapy” to me! Thank you for sharing with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Athena? Is this really a post from Athena? I’ve had the Coast Guard, FBI, ATF, Marine’s and Royal Mounted Canadian Palace scouring Florida looking for you! I’ve always wanted to visit the Keys no you are making me pack up and leave tonight. Welcome back stranger!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never been to the keys, but I’m planning on a day or an overnight trip. It’s silly to live so close and never have gone. Lovely pictures.
    Sorry to hear about the frustrations of your divorce, I totally know what that’s like, but it’s awesome that you remembered to have a bit of fun along the way. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!!
      Btw, I haven’t been active on the blogosphere but I’ve kept up with you when I get emails notifying me of your posts. You’re pretty damn funny and very introspective. I found your comparison of your men fun and interesting to read. As well as your drawings of course! Cheers to your strength. Hope your foot is feeling better. Xo
      And, lastly, I will be in Paris at the end of the month. Would love any recommendations you have! 🙂

      Like

      • Oooh, exciting! Paris is a bit like New-York, London, or any major city. You can find anything and everything… It’s beautiful though so just wander around, visit the Louvres and Orsay Museums at the very least… Depends what you like. 🙂
        Thanks for the compliments, and yeah, my ankle is better, I can dance on two legs again 😉 x
        Take care

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

