Last Week in Rewind – St. Paddy’s, Pests, Wicked & Wine

Last week was full of fun activities even though it started with a curveball!

Monday – Lice struck again. FML.  My best friend called me that she found it on her daughter and that I should check She-ra.  Of course, I found some on her.  I am SO over these little fuckers.  I took her straight to a professional lice clinic and spent the $150 to get it treated and guaranteed. Ain’t nobody got time for that.  So, by the end of the day, we were officially lice free in my house.  Which then led me to indulge in some serious retail therapy.  New shoes and clothes were what I needed to feel better. πŸ˜‰

Tuesday – St Patrick’s Day!  I joined Jazz and my cousins for a night of green filled fun!  We went out to a bar that plays music and pretty much danced and drank the whole night.  Which was then followed by our weekly late night Dr. Phil session.  Jazz is recovering from a bad breakup last year with a long term boyfriend.  We tend to go grab something to eat after our nights out which started turning into lengthy therapy chats.  This one was no different but you can really sense our progress!

Wednesday – I’d found a great deal through Living Social for discounted tickets to see Wicked, which I’d been dying to see.  So my mother, aunt, cousin and I all went to see it.  

The show was playing at the Adrienne Arsht Center in Downtown Miami.  It’s a beautiful theater and the energy is just so great there!

 

The show was amazing!  We had a phenomenal time!  I’m sure many of you have seen it before but I was so moved by the performances and songs.  I recommend seeing it if you have not, especially if you are a fan of The Wizard of Oz.

Friday – Date night with Captain consisted of a lovely evening at Schnebly’s Winery.  We tried the beer and wine tastings and then had a delicious dinner outdoors while watching folks sing karaoke. 

Just a side note about this place, they are a winery and brewery but the unique thing is they do not use grapes for their wine.  They use all sorts of local fruit such as avocado, mango, lychee, etc.  I didn’t particularly care for their beer or wine but the staff was very friendly and well informed on their stuff.  And the food was excellent. 

  

It was a wonderfully romantic evening. We had great conversation and it was nice to be in a relaxing atmosphere just enjoying each other.  I really am smitten. 

Sometimes I can’t believe how different my life has become.  Seven months ago I thought my life had fallen apart.  I knew that everything would be okay but it was hard to picture happy moments.  I still struggle a bit with waiting for the bubble to burst.  As if good things eventually go bad…but I’m working on keeping those negative thoughts at bay.  I’m doing my best to live in the moment.

So although I started off the week with pesky invaders, I had a fabulous week! 

This week’s mantra:  Stop telling yourself that it’s all too good to be true!

17 thoughts on “Last Week in Rewind – St. Paddy’s, Pests, Wicked & Wine

  1. 333smp says:

    1. My daughter’s class had lice last week. So far they are not in my home. I am paranoid.
    2. I had no idea there were professional lice clinics. Not as paranoid now.
    3. Miami sounds magical. I was only there once, very briefly, and it felt like a movie. I love reading your stories. I just imagine all these beautiful people in all these beautiful places, eating and drinking beautiful things….. and that’s Miami!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eek!!! I REALLY hope you guys do not get it! It’s awful to deal with!!! I didn’t know there were clinics either! But I’m glad they exist! Lol!
      And thank you for the praise for my city and my stories as of late. Miami is a great place and I’m having a good time getting out. I hope you know you have a friend down here if you ever want to get away… =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

