Crappy weekend & Lice

After my revelation that I had been doing so well and felt great and blah, blah, blah… I had a major setback this past weekend.

Grayheart is working crazy hours, he’s now traveling for work, Valentine’s Day, I’m sick, I’ve eaten terribly, the kids have been out of control and then my little She-ra got LICE!   I literally broke down crying on the floor of my closet.  I actually was so stressed that I screamed at my kids one night and just sent them straight to bed.  (I felt like an awful mother!)  I just could not take it anymore.

By the way, for anyone that has not experienced the joys of lice… it is the MOST tedious and annoying thing to go through!  These invaders multiply at a rapid pace and will drive anyone remotely OCD or Type A crazy!  I have washed, heated, dried, washed again, thrown out, shaken out every and anything in my house that my daughter has come across.  And then you can’t help but feel itchy just talking about it!

So I’m chalking this weekend and last few days up to just a momentarily case of the blues and bad luck.  Let’s hope the cold weather about to hit Miami will take away the shitty fortune I’ve had and bring in some good!

25 thoughts on “Crappy weekend & Lice

  1. Went through the lice thing twice in the 90’s. I cannot remember anything as horrid as the endless combing, itching, laundering, spraying and throwing things away. I have a little boy and I’m praying to miss this with him since the first two times (with 3 long haired daughters!) was so traumatic. I feel ya on this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my! This is my first experience and it is SO crazy! I’m crossing my fingers that my son doesn’t get it so I’ve pre-treated him and checking him like crazy! I also cut his hair. Just no. lol

      I hope you don’t have to deal with it with your son! You’ve earned it after 3 long haired daughters! LOL!

      Like

      • Worst part now is that my little boy has long hair and so do my husband and I! This little group of hippies better hope to dodge that bullet. FYI Lice hate hair product and dye as much as they dislike dirty hair. Never too young for a little mousse I say.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh my! Long hair everywhere! 🙂 lol!

          My daughter has curly hair so she’s had hair product since she started school or she’d look like a mess! That’s part of the reason why I thought I was safe! Guess they took a liking to her! I’m hoping my dyed hair deters them!

          Like

  2. Debra says:

    Eeep. Just hearing the word and I get itchy. That’s some crappy luck that has come your way. As for crying in the closet — being a parent can be so incredibly impossible sometimes. You are not the first person in the world to to melt down from the stress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

