Nostalgia

Today I feel a bit nostalgic. I’ve been in DC a few days now and have had the pleasure of seeing many old friends and visit some old stomping grounds. The weather is crisp and feels great to breathe in. Food has been phenomenal… I’ve had the opportunity to eat Thai, Chinese, Indian… Yum!

But a part of me is wistful. This is where it all started with Grayheart. It’s reminiscent of happier times and new beginnings and old familiars. I caught my friends up to speed on the divorce. One friend – that knows us both well – shared that although I look wonderful, she sees great sadness in my eyes. (I can’t fool everyone it seems.)

Couple this with my daughter last night crying hysterically over Skype that she was missing me… Well, it didn’t lend itself to a perfect night’s rest.

I still have a few days left here and really am enjoying so much of my trip. But as I’m learning, emotions come in waves. They’re in like the tide and then out again. You never just feel one thing and, boy, are they sneaky! I’m onto them, though, and will just take it in stride today. πŸ˜‰

Today’s Mantra: Smile and enjoy yourself.

Btw, the image is a picture I took in the Natural History Museum in Nature’s Best Photography Exhibit. This photographer (Antonio Zimbone) won “Power of Nature” with this picture of Mt. Etna in Italy. Thought it properly reflected my emotions these days! Lol! Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Nostalgia

    • You are very right, amiga! Perspective, perspective, perspective. I try to counteract the negative with reminders of the positive. I am very fortunate in so many ways and life is a mosaic, isnt it? πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder! Hope you take care! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      • Of course life has its very own perspective and a plan of its own. You need to just be strong and see where it takes you. Take each step as it comes and you will see how everything goes well when you look at life through positive lenses ☺️😌😘

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

